Stripped.Rebuilt EP out now!

Hilang Child_Stripped. Rebuilt EP (1).jpg

NEW MUSIC! Stripped.Rebuilt EP is out today on Bella Union 🎉 a collection of stripped back and reworked songs from my debut album Years, as well as a rebuilt version of the first song I ever wrote, 'Chaturanga'. Listen on streaming services now:

Scroll to the bottom of this post for a few words on how the EP came about.

Cover photo is me and my little brother, aged 15 & 11ish, with art design by Luke Jarvis.

Mixed by Jamie Mac
Mastered by Arther Indrikovs
Strings on 'Chaturanga Rebuilt' by AK Patterson

Upcoming UK live shows (click for tickets/info):

10 May - BRIGHTON, St. Nicholas Church (9.20pm, FREE) Back in the Woods Promotions Alternative Escape Showcase

11 May - BRIGHTON, Presuming Ed Coffeehouse (3pm, FREE) Alternative Escape showcase

20 June - LONDON, St. Pancras Old Church 

6 July - NEWCASTLE, Bobiks

8 July - LEEDS, Hyde Park Book Club

+ more tba


‘Chaturanga Rebuilt’ is a new version of the first song I ever wrote. In the years after writing it I initially pushed it aside as I grew into my craft a little more; I had never really been satisfied with the original and felt it didn't represent what my music had gone on to become. But last year I finally made the decision to revisit it, re-learn it and in the summer of 2018 my band and I played it live for the first time in years. Suddenly I finally ‘got’ it and decided I had to re-record it the way it should have sounded in the first place, now that I have the voice, ability and ear to be able to do it the justice it deserved.

As for the ‘stripped’ songs on the EP; at the end of 2018, during Iceland Airwaves I reworked my single ‘Crow’ for just piano and voice for a live broadcast, straight-to-vinyl show at Studio Hljódriti hosted by Ásgeir. The general realisation from doing so was that getting away from all the ambience, electronics, drums and atmospheres was just as exciting for me, allowing my songwriting to breathe a little more. So we recorded these live intimate, stripped down versions of 3 songs from my debut album, hopefully putting fresh life into them and showing them in a new light.